Soundtracks - Seiken Densetsu – Sound Collections

Seiken Densetsu Sound Collections Publisher: NTT Publishing
Catalog No.: PSCN-5029, NTCP-5029
Release Date: 25/Aug/1995, 01/Oct/2004
Composed by: Kenji Ito
Arranged by: Takayuki Hattori (Tracks 1-7)
Format: CD

This album is a combination of Seiken Densetsu’s Original Soundtrack and the Let Thoughts Ride on Knowledge album.

When you have 4 channels and a very limited sound chip to work with, you really have to work at it to pull off a truly remarkable soundtrack, and that’s exactly what Ito has done with Final Fantasy Adventure. Able to string together memorable, emotional melodies with the little technology available, his music brought that added life to the game and immersed the player in the story, with upbeat tracks such as “Battle 2”, the ever popular “Endless Battlefield”, and the always present “Rising Sun”.

Taking the already strong and evoking melodies created by Ito, Takayuki Hattori applies the magic of classical orchestration and takes them to new heights. Taking many of the main themes from the game, he forms “chapters” that weave the story together, and achieves perfect transitions between each melody that comprises the piece, telling the tale beautifully. Of a particularly worthy mention is the arrangement of “Mana’s Mission” which includes a lead non-lyrical vocal that fits the piece perfectly with the feeling of the melody, and remains one of my favourite Seiken Densetsu tunes.

Track Listing

No. Track Title Arrangement of Duration
Disc 1 – 01:09:51
1 1st Chapter – Determination Rising Sun, Fighting Arena, Endless Battlefield 03:31
2 2nd Chapter – Menace Glance Dukedom, Dungeon 1, Fight 1 05:59
3 3rd Chapter – Mission Village, Royal Palace, Mana’s Mission 05:56
4 4th Chapter – Friends Birth of Chocobo, Chocobo Theme 04:50
5 5th Chapter – Parting Dungeon 2, Fight 2, In Sorry, Let Thoughts Ride on Knowledge 06:55
6 6th Chapter – Decisive Battle Mana Palace, Julius’ Ambition, Last Battle 03:43
7 7th Chapter – Life Legend Forever 04:17
8 Rising Sun Title Screen 01:43
9 Fighting Arena Battle in the Arena 00:45
10 Requiem Willy is DEAD!!! 01:01
11 Endless Battlefield Overworld Theme before Crystal Desert 01:29
12 Village Town Theme 01:04
13 Town Music (unreleased) 01:45
14 Dwarves’ Theme Dwarf Village 00:52
15 Glance Dukedom Granz Castle 01:30
16 Dungeon 1 Early Dungeon 01:34
17 Battle 1 Boss Battle 01:27
18 Royal Palace Theme Royal Palace Theme 01:00
19 Mana’s Mission Mana Plot Background 01:13
20 Danger! Urgent situation 00:29
21 Jema’s Realization Jema lying in his bed 01:03
22 In Search of the Holy Sword Overworld Theme after reaching Crystal Desert 01:33
23 Chocobo Birth Birth of Chobobo 00:29
24 Chocobo Theme Theme when riding Chocobo 00:52
25 Dungeon 2 Later Dungeon Theme 01:11
26 Moglie When Moogled 00:10
27 Dungeon 3 Dime Tower 00:59
28 Battle 2 Boss Battle 01:32
29 In Sorrow Amanda Dies 01:36
30 Let Thoughts Ride on Knowledge Lester’s Theme 01:02
31 Mana Palace Mana Palace level 01:37
32 Julius’ Ambition Julius’ Theme 00:34
33 Final Battle Final Boss Battle 02:03
34 Legend Forever Ending Theme 04:07