Constructive Critism Please

Show off your mad skills and exchange creative tips.

Moderators: Faalstar, Kefka

ryoko126
Dark Knight

Post by ryoko126 »

I am working with coloring my drawings in photoshop, but this is the extent of my know-how. I want to make it seem a bit more realistic, and smooth. Any ideas on tutorials or anything?

Kimiko
Tropicallo

Post by Kimiko »

Hey, nice drawing.

The left arm is a bit odd below the shoulder..

Perhaps you could add some highlights for added realism?
ryoko126
Dark Knight

Post by ryoko126 »

That's what I posted, I don't know how to. This is litterally the best I can do in photoshop, I'm afraid. I need some good tutorials.
IrishLuiz
Wizard Eye

Post by IrishLuiz »

hey ryoko, i did a lot of photoshop coloring in my life (im a graphic designer).

Well, its hard to say by the net, but ill try to help ya with things i do.

-First, pass your original image (in case you made it in pencil pen, etc..) in some good degree of Levels (image<adjustment<levels) and make sure you have a good amount of black in the outline.

-The white background will probably become gray with the levels, so adjust the Contrast and brightness(image<adjustments<brightness/contrast), and you'll have a white background with black drawing lines.

-duplicate the layer. You'll work at the bottom layer, so put the layer above at Multiply, and do your colouring at the bottom layer (or more layers if you must). This will make your work A LOT EASIER, since the layer above will keep your outlines untouched.

-use the Polygonal Lasso tool to make quick selections of areas you wanna colour. You can do miracles by making these quick selection and adding some shade to them ( a cool way to do shadowing is: have your area selected, then use a difused Brush with a big size, far from the selected area. This will create a "spray-like" shadowing that doesnt look artificial.)