Secret of Mana music project...

Expanding the Mana Universe. For fans, by fans.

Moderators: Faalstar, Kefka

impurfekt
Mushboom

Post by impurfekt »

Hello Mana fans! Let me first introduce myself. My name is Aaron. I am an electronic musician and serious old school RPG fan.

I just downloaded Secret of Mana on my Wii last week. I hadn’t played the game in a good 5 years (the ol’ SNES has finally disappeared on me). I can honestly say it hasn’t aged a bit. Best of all, the music is as beautiful as I remember.

And now for the project; I am planning to do a 6 track EP based on music from the game. Basically, recreate my favorite pieces using a combination of orchestral and electronic instruments. I will be getting a couple other artists involved. The EP will be distributed freely of course (to avoid any unnecessary legal issues). I have every confidence that the new compositions will be absolutely beautiful.

Having played through the game at least six times I have a fairly good idea of which tracks I’d like to do. I also managed to find all the original songs online and go through them (http://www.thealmightyguru.com/VGMPF/Ga ... -SNES.html). As yet, my firm choices include:

Fear of the Heavens (the opening title)
Spirit of the Night (plays when you are forced to leave the village)
Still of the Night (plays in that amazing forest level)

I have a number of other tracks in mind too. I would however like the opinions of other hardcore Mana fans. So please, feel free to chime in on your favorite tracks and the project idea in general! Your opinions would be much appreciated!
Kassidy
Site Admin

Post by Kassidy »

In Darkness' Depths (Story Intro, I'd porbably do this as an extension to Angel's Fear)
Danger (boss battle)
Repeating Eternity (defeated boss in Pureland, don't think this has been remixed yet)
Ceremony - Curse - Sorcerer (Dark Lich theme and battle, could work as one)
The Wings No Longer Beat (ending theme 1)